Zailani replaces Shagali as Kaduna assembly speaker

The Kaduna State House of Assembly has elected the former deputy speaker, Yusuf Tanimu Zailani, as its new speaker.

Zailani, who represents Igabi Constituency, emerged the assembly’s helmsman following the resignation of Aminu Shagali from Sabon Gari Constituency.

The Clerk of the House, Barrister Bello Zubairu, who presided over an emergency session of the House, said the former speaker resigned on personal grounds and subsequently called for nomination of new speaker.

‎The member representing Zaria Constituenct, Suleiman Dabo, nominated Zailani as the new speaker while Bako Kantiyok representing Zonkwa Constituency seconded the nomination.

The House also elected Muktar Isa Hazo representing Milgoma constituency as the deputy speaker of the house.

Hazo was the Chairman Local Government and Chieftain Affairs committee before his current position.

The Chairman, House Committee on Information, Mr Tanimu Musa, said the former speaker Shagali would continue his normal duties as a member of the assembly.

Meanwhile, Shagali has congratulated the new speaker and his deputy through a posting on his twitter handle.

He said “I resigned today as the Rt. Hon. Speaker, Kaduna State House of Assembly, it has been a long journey and I thank Nasir Ahmad el-Rufai for all the support and brotherly advice, I also wish to congratulate my brothers/friends Hon. Yusuf Zailani & Hon. Mukhtar Hazo on their new responsibilities.

“May Almighty Allah see you all through, I’ll always be available to give my support and advice whenever needed. I thank the Almighty for the opportunity/responsibility he bestowed upon me, and I am grateful to Him always, May this be the best for me, for my people & Kaduna State.”

Show More

Leave a comment

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: