NOUN academic staff to join ASUU, elect executive officers

The academic staff of National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN), under the aegis of NOUN Academic Staff Forum, has resolved to join the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) at the national level.

The resolution was made on February 2, 2021, at the second meeting of the body, held at the Convocation Arena, NOUN Headquarters, Jabi Abuja, according to a statement at the weekend by the forum’s Public Relations Officer Dr Chuks O. Odiegwu-Enwerem.

The first meeting of the forum held on December 3, 2020, discussed modalities for getting their entitlement from the Earned Academic Allowance (EAA), released by the Federal Government of Nigeria to ASUU.

At the second meeting, the chairman of the forum, Professor Abubakar Suleiman, briefed members on the progress made towards getting staff of the University to be included in the payment loop.

According to him, the efforts included an interactive session with North-central ASUU officials to get a proper briefing on how the objective could be realized.

He said, “after extensive deliberations with the ASUU officials (North-central), coupled with other available information, we were convinced that it would be very difficult for NOUN academics to be included in the present arrangement to get their legitimate entitlement by going it alone without the national body.”

“If we continue like this, we will continue to lose out from what rightly belongs to us, even when it is clear that our academic load carrying capacity is one of the highest in the country,” the chairman announced to the forum.

In the light of the development, and considering the overwhelming desire of all academic staff to be mainstreamed into the salary arrangement of academic staff of Nigerian universities, members unanimously resolved to join the national body without further delay; they consequently mandated the Executive Committee to follow-up on the membership process.

Earlier, the NOUN Academic Staff Forum had announced the election of Executive Committee members to steer the affairs of the forum.

The executive members include: Prof Abubakar G. Suleiman – Chairman; Dr Kalu Awa – Vice-Chairman; Dr Adenrele Afolorunso – General Secretary; Dr Bridget A. Yakubu – Assistant General-Secretary; Dr Muhammad A. Bin Ali – Treasurer; Dr Tunde A. Bakare-Aremu – Financial-Secretary; and Dr Chuks O. Odiegwu-Enwerem – Public Relations Officer.

Other members include: Dr Henrietta I. Kelle, Dr Ihuoma Ubosi, Dr Nwamaka P. Ibeme, Dr Anthony Kaine, Dr Sylvester Ogbonna, Dr Jamiu Amusa and Dr Ani George.

Show More

Leave a comment

Back to top button